MEPs vote to appoint Mariya Gabriel as Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society

Earlier today the European Parliament voted to approve the appointment of Mariya Gabriel as the Bulgarian Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society.     In this position Ms. Gabriel will be overseeing some of the Commission’s most contentious proposals, including the copyright reform bill, the ePrivacy reform and the reform of the AVMS directive.

The former MEP was nominated by Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker in May 2017 and took part in a nomination hearing hosted by the ITRE and CULT Committees on 20 June during which MEPs posed a range of questions, covering such files as copyright, cyber security, hate speech, roaming and data protection. At the hearing Gabriel also said that she will prioritise wrapping up the Commission’s work on the 16-point Digital Single Market initiative.

Gabriel was a member of the European Parliament since 2009, as part of the EPP/GERB group. She served as the EPP group coordinator and spokesperson for the FEMM Parliamentary Committee from 2009-2014, and was awarded the MEP of the year 2013 under the category “Gender Equality”. She has been a Vice-President of the EPP Group, head of the Bulgarian EPP Delegation and Member of the LIBE Committee since June 2014.

As Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society Gabriel will be working under Vice-Presidents Andrus Ansip and Jyrki Katainen. She will be filling a position that was left vacant in January when Commissioner Günther Oettinger took over the EU budget portfolio after former Bulgarian Commissioner Kristalina Georgieva left the Commission to join the World Bank.


The European Magazine Media Association, is the unique and complete representation of Europe’s magazine media, which is today enjoyed by millions of consumers on various platforms, encompassing both paper and digital formats.

The European Newspaper Publishers’ Association (ENPA) is the largest representative body of newspaper publishers across Europe. ENPA advocates for 14 national associations across 14 European countries, and is a principal interlocutor to the EU institutions and a key driver of media policy debates in the European Union.